Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

This page in:

  • English

This Event has Concluded.

Read the comments below!

DEC Lecture Series: Gender Inequality in India

February 12, 2019 | 12:30 to 14:00 ET, 17:30 to 19:00 GMT

MC 13-121, World Bank Headquarters, Washington DC

  Featured Speaker
  (
February 12, 2019)
  Seema Jayachandran

  Northwestern University

Gender Inequality in India

About this Lecture

This talk will provide an overview of how well economic factors can explain patterns of gender inequality in the world, as well as the role of cultural norms in perpetuating gender gaps. I will then focus in on India and the ways in which its gender inequality is particularly severe. One such way is the pronounced favoritism towards sons in India. I will discuss implications of son preference and some potential solutions aimed at expanding opportunities for women and girls.

2018 DEC Lectures

VIEW THE REPLAY: Wednesday, January 31: Tavneet Suri, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

VIEW THE REPLAY: Tuesday, February 6: Pascaline Dupas, Stanford University

VIEW THE REPLAY: Tuesday, March 13: Pinelopi Goldberg, Yale University

VIEW THE REPLAY: Tuesday, April 24: Rohini Pande, Harvard University

VIEW THE REPLAY: Monday, May 21: Oriana Bandiera, LSE

VIEW THE REPLAY: Monday, June 18: Rema Hanna, Harvard University

VIEW THE REPLAY: Monday, July 16: Dina Pomeranz, University of Zurich

VIEW THE REPLAY: Monday, October 22: Alice Evans, King's College London

VIEW THE REPLAY: Tuesday, November 27: Gita Gopinath, Harvard University

VIEW THE REPLAY: Wednesday, December 12: Nancy Qian, Northwestern University

Monday, January 14, 2019: Jessica Goldberg, University of Maryland (The event has been postponed. A new date will be scheduled shortly.)

VIEW THE REPLAY: Tuesday, February 12, 2019: Seema Jayachandran, Northwestern University

Monday, May 6, 2019: Eliana La Ferrara, Bocconi University

Speakers

Tavneet Suri

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stanford University

Chief Economist, World Bank

Mohammed Kamal Professor of Public Policy, Harvard University

London School of Economics

Harvard University

University of Zurich

Harvard University

King's College London

Northwestern University

University of Maryland

Northwestern University

Bocconi University