Learn how the World Bank Group is helping countries with COVID-19 (coronavirus). Find Out

This page in:

  • English

Marine Plastics in East Asia and the Pacific: Crisis and Opportunity

Monday, November 2, 2020, 9 PM (Washington DC)

Tuesday, November 3, 2020, 9 AM (Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta) | 10 AM (Beijing, Singapore) | 1 PM (Sydney)

Marine plastics has become a global development challenge as the growing amount of mismanaged plastic waste pollutes oceans, coastlines, rivers, and other inland waterways while affecting the livelihoods of coastal communities. The sudden increase in single-use plastics during the COVID-19 pandemic has created an additional stress on countries working to tackle the challenge.

The East Asia and Pacific (EAP) region is a key player in the marine plastics crisis with a groundswell of public support for urgent action against plastic pollution to protect communities, ecosystems, and economies. Join government officials, private sector leaders, and civil society representatives from across the region to discuss effective ways to accelerate policies, investments, and innovations to address marine plastics in East Asia.

Register to receive updates on the virtual event.

 

Speakers

President, World Bank Group

Vice President, East Asia and Pacific Region, World Bank

Regional Vice President, Asia and Pacific, International Finance Corporation

Director General, Viet Nam Administration of Seas and Islands (VASI), Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment (MONRE) of Vietnam

Coordinating Minister of Maritime Affairs and Investment, Indonesia

Minister for Environment, Royal Government of Cambodia

Senior Vice President, Danone Waters Indonesia and SEA

Executive Director and Chief Sustainability Officer, Indorama Ventures PCL

Norwegian Ambassador to Indonesia and Timor-Leste

Executive Director, Gerakan Indonesia Diet Kantong Plastik (Plastic Bag Diet Movement), Indonesia

Host

Producer and Presenter, BBC World News

This Event has Concluded.

Read the comments below!