Uhuru Kenyatta

President of Kenya

Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta is the fourth and the current President of Kenya, in office since 9 April 2013. He previously served in the Government of Kenya as Minister for Local Government from 2001 to 2002, and he was leader of the official opposition from 2002 to 2007. Hon. Kenyatta was appointed Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Trade in April 2008. In the same year, he was transferred to the Treasury as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, as part of the Grand Coalition Cabinet, where he served up to January 2012. He served as the Member of Parliament for Gatundu South Constituency beginning in 2002. President Kenyatta was also the Chairman of Kenya African National Union (KANU), which was a part of the Party of National Unity (PNU). President Uhuru Kenyatta is the first son of founding President Jomo Kenyatta. Born at the dawn of Kenya's Independence, he carried in his name, Uhuru – which means freedom. President Uhuru Kenyatta attended St Mary's School in Nairobi and then Amherst College, Massachusetts, United States, where he graduated with a bachelor's degree in politics and economics. The President has had a long and outstanding career in politics, having served in various capacities in previous administrations heading dockets.