Fragility Forum Speakers | World Bank Live
Visit our new beta site at beta.live.worldbank.org

Fragility Forum Speakers






Leaving No One Behind in Fragile States
March 1- 8:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (ET) / 13:45 - 15:00 (GMT)

Speakers:

  • Opening Remarks: Sri Mulyani Indrawati, Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, The World Bank
  • Jim Yong Kim, President, The World Bank Group
  • Catherine Samba-Panza, President, Central African Republic
  • Jan Eliasson, Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations
  • Nancy Lindborg, President, United States Institute for Peace (USIP)
  • Moderator: Saroj Kumar Jha, Senior Director, Fragility, Conflict and Violence, The World Bank

 

Strengthening the Global Response to Forced Displacement
March 1- 10:10 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. (ET) / 15:10 - 16:15 (GMT)

Speakers:

  • Opening Remarks: Kyle Peters, Senior Vice President, Operations, The World Bank
  • HRH Princess Sarah Zeid of Jordan
  • Deng Majok-gutatur Chol, co-Founder and Executive Director of the Lost Boys and Girls of Sudan
  • Mohamed Omer Arteh Ghalib, Deputy Prime Minister, Somalia
  • Amara Konneh, Minister of Finance, Liberia
  • Thomas Staal, Acting Assistant Administrator, USAID
  • Elizabeth Ferris, Senior Adviser to the UN General Assembly’s Global Summit on Refugees and Migrants
  • Ali Sindi, Minister of Planning, Kurdistan Regional Government, Iraq
  • Moderator: John Michael Donnelly, Communications Advisor, Office of the President, The World Bank

 

Resilience Dialogue: Fragility, Conflict and Disaster Risk – Connecting the Dots
March 1- 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (ET) / 17:00 - 18:00 (GMT)

Speakers:

  • Janani Vivekananda, Head of Environment, Climate Change and Security, International Alert
  • Irwin Redlener, Director, National Center for Disaster Preparedness
  • Nancy Lindborg, President, United States Institute for Peace
  • Sri Mulyani Indrawati, Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, World Bank
  • Moderator: Margaret Brennan, Foreign Affairs Correspondent, CBS News

 

Back to Business: How the Private Sector Can Help Transform Fragile and Conflict Situations
March 2- 9:00 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. (ET) / 14:00 - 15:15 (GMT)

Speakers:

  • Opening Remarks: Philippe Le Houérou, Executive Vice President and CEO, International Finance Corporation
  • Wided Bouchamaoui, 2015 Nobel Peace Prize Winner – Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet; President of the Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts 
  • Kaifala Marah, Minister of Finance and Economic Development of Sierra Leone; Chair of the g7+
  • Guillaume Le Cunff, President, Nespresso USA
  • Laure Wessemius-Chibrac, Managing Director, Cordaid Investments
  • Closing Remarks: Elissa Golberg, Assistant Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development of Canada
  • Moderator: Beverly Kirk, Fellow and Deputy Director for Outreach, International Security Program; Program Manager, Smart Women, Smart Power, CSIS